Education was suspended until further notice in Turkish higher education institutions in the provinces of Kahramanmaraş, Adana, Malatya, Adıyaman, Hatay, Şanlıurfa, Diyarbakır, Gaziantep, Kilis, Osmaniye, which were affected by the Kahramanmaraş-centered earthquake.

Students living in this region and studying at universities in other provinces will be provided necessary assistance for exams and attendance between 6-17 February 2023.

The sixth-year medical students and fifth-year dentistry students of the universities in the mentioned provinces are not subject to the decision.

The emergency and intensive care units of our university hospitals in the region and surrounding provinces are open to the service of our citizens, and necessary measures have been taken to increase their capacity.

After the completion of the damage assessment on the campuses where our higher education institutions are located in these provinces, a new statement will be made regarding the start of education.

In addition, our citizens whose houses were damaged in the provinces affected by the earthquake will be provided with university facilities under the coordination of the Disaster and Emergency Management Presidency (AFAD).

We grieve for those who lost their lives in the earthquake and wish a speedy recovery to the wounded.