Digital Education Certificate Ceremony Takes Place at CoHE

December 18, 2020

The first two phases of the training on “cyber security” and “network management” offered to academics from 24 universities are completed. The training was offered to academics from 24 universities included in the “Digital Transformation in Higher Education Project”, which was initiated under the collaboration on digital education between CoHE and Cisco on March 16, 2020.

51 out of 63 academics, who completed the first two phases of the training successfully, became eligible to obtain their certificates. In this regard, a “digital certificate ceremony” was held for these academics.

After the ceremony, the third phase of the program was introduced with the participation of 30 universities that were selected among the universities in Anatolia. CoHE President Prof. M. A. Yekta Saraç chaired the meeting. In addition to CoHE officials, the rectors of the universities included in the project, the academics who got or will get the title of educator at these universities, Didem Duru, General Manager of Cisco Turkey, and Habibe Açık, Corporate Social Responsibility Leader at Cisco,   attended the meeting.

- The project started at eight universities, mostly technical universities, on March 16

The training for academics from eight pilot universities, five of which were newly-established technical universities, was completed in the first phase of the project. In this scope, Cisco Network Academy and METU provided free certificate training courses on cyber security and network management for a group of academics selected from Bursa Technical University, Erzurum Technical University, Eskişehir Technical University, Iskenderun Technical University, Konya Technical University, Hitit University, Tokat Gaziosmanpaşa University and Yozgat Bozok University.

- With the addition of 16 universities on May 7, the number of universities has reached 24

Ağrı Ibrahim Çeçen University, Ardahan University, Artvin Çoruh University, Batman University, Bayburt University, Bingöl University, Bitlis Eren University, Gümüşhane University, Hakkari University, Iğdır University, Kilis 7 Aralık University, Munzur University, Muş Alparslan University, Osmaniye University, Siirt University and Şırnak University were included in the second phase of the project.

In his speech, CoHE President Saraç noted that the New CoHE attributed great importance to digitalization in higher education and emphasized that the importance of digitalization in higher education was revealed once again during this period. He said that they were expecting rectors and academics to pass on the training to other academics and students.

- Digital steps were taken in higher education during the pandemic

Saraç talked about the New CoHE’s works on digitalization during the pandemic. He said that the Committee on Distance Learning Policies, consisting of academics from different disciplines of various Turkish universities, who are experts in distance education, was established at CoHE. He said that they organized national and international virtual fairs and prepared a protocol for providing distance education platform, YOK Courses Platform and YOK Virtual Laboratory Project.

- Third phase started

After the certificates were presented to the academics who became successful in the first two phases, the third phase of the project was introduced. In the third phase of the project, which is planned to be carried out between January 2021 and August 2021, nearly 90 academics from 30 universities selected from the universities in Anatolia will receive training.

At the end of the meeting, CoHE President Saraç congratulated the successful academics and wished success to academics that will start their training in the third phase. He also extended his thanks to Cisco, METU, CoHE officials and the rectors.

- Priority for Female Academics in Digital Education

It was required that at least one of the three academics to be communicated by each university to be trained in the project should be selected from among female academics.

- The universities to be included in the third phase

The universities to be included in the third phase are as follows: Bolu Abant Izzet Baysal University, Adıyaman University, Afyon Kocatepe University, Ahi Evran University, Aksaray University, Alanya Alaaddin Keykubat University, Amasya University, Bandırma Onyedi Eylül University, Bartın University, Bilecik Şeyh Edebali University, Bülent Ecevit University, Cumhuriyet University, Çankırı Karatekin University, Dumlupınar University, Düzce University, Erzincan Binali Yıldırım University, Giresun University, Harran University, Kafkas University, Kahramanmaraş Sütçü Imam University, Karabük University, Karamanoğlu Mehmet Bey University, Kastamonu University, Niğde University, Nevşehir Hacı Bektaş Veli University, Ordu University, Recep Tayyip Erdoğan University, Sinop University, and Tarsus Uşak University.