129 Undergraduate Programs at 39 Universities Earn Right to Have TQF and EQF Logos on Diplomas

December 23, 2021

The Turkish Qualifications Framework Board added the qualifications of 129 undergraduate programs at 39 universities to the database of the Turkish Qualifications Framework (TQF) for the first time in the history of Turkish higher education. Thus, 129 undergraduate programs gained the right to have the Turkish Qualifications Framework (TQF) and European Qualifications Framework (EQF) logos on their diplomas. The students who will graduate from these programs will have their diplomas recognized faster abroad, will have more employment opportunities, and horizontal and vertical student mobility will be made easier for them.

- A first in Turkish higher education

The TQF Board decided to add the qualifications of 129 undergraduate programs at 39 universities to TQF for the first time on December 21, 2021. The quality assurance of the learning outcomes of 129 higher education programs that were added to TQF was approved by YÖKAK and presented to the Council of Higher Education.

As a result of the 129 diploma programs sent to the TQF Board with the decision of the Council of Higher Education, they were added to the TQF database with the approval of the TQF Board, and these programs were entitled to use the TQF and EQF logos on their diplomas.

- What kind of privileges will diplomas with TQF and EQF logos have?

The graduates of 129 diploma programs in Turkey will have mutual recognition of their higher education and upper secondary education with internship qualifications and achievements of their study periods abroad.

In line with the directive on the recognition of professional qualifications in the EU, these logos will enable professionals to practice their profession by enabling their cross-border movement or be employed abroad. In accordance with the Lisbon Treaty, it will allow the recognition of academic qualifications in and outside of Europe.

- The Structure of the TQF Board

The TQF Board consists of representatives of labor and employer unions, professional organizations and relevant non-governmental organizations, especially the Council of Higher Education and the Ministry of National Education, under the coordination of the Vocational Qualifications Authority (VQA) to carry out all relevant technical studies and to ensure the quality assurance of qualifications.

TQF refers to the national qualifications framework, which is designed to be compatible with the European Qualifications Framework (EQF) and shows all the qualifications gained through vocational, general and academic education and training programs and other learning paths, including primary, secondary and higher education.

- Which countries are included in the EQF?

The European Qualifications Framework (EQF), on the other hand, is defined as an eight-level learning outcomes-based framework for all types of qualifications that serves as a translation tool between different national qualifications frameworks. This framework helps improve transparency, comparability and portability of diplomas and certificates of individuals and makes it possible to compare qualifications from different countries and institutions.

In addition to the EU Member States, another 11 countries work towards implementing the EQF, namely Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway (European Economic Area countries), Albania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia and Turkey (candidate countries), Bosnia & Herzegovina, Kosovo (potential candidates) and Switzerland.

Diploma-granting programs, whose accreditation works have been completed by the TQF Board, which have completed the harmonization period with the EQF, are entered in the TQF Database and gained the right to use the TQF and EQF logos.

Click here for u​niversities and programs whose qualifications were added to TQF.

Source: AA