Turkish Physical Society Awards CoHE President with Special Honor Award

September 5, 2018 / Muğla


The Board of the Turkish Physical Society awarded CoHE President Prof. Dr. M. A. Yekta Saraç with the "Special Honor Award".


The "Turkish Physics Society Special Honor Award", which will be awarded for the seventh time this year, was presented to CoHE President Saraç at the opening ceremony of the 34th International Physics Congress of the Turkish Physics Society, which will be held in Muğla on 5-9 September 2018.


The award has been given to those who contributed to the promotion of physics and raised awareness in the field of science and technology in the community since 2012. CoHE President Saraç was given the award for the establishment of YOK-TEBIP Honors Classes initiated by the Council of Higher Education for the development of fundamental sciences, the initiation of a scholarship program aimed at students wishing to study fundamental sciences and his efforts to train successful students as scientists as much as possible.


CoHE President Saraç began his speech by extending his thanks to everyone involved in the preparation of the ceremony for their efforts and for their kind invitation.


CoHE President Saraç stated that there had been extraordinary and stunning changes related to the structure of universities and higher education in the globalizing/globalized world in the last 20 years and emphasized that the Council of Higher Education brought innovation to the structure of universities in Turkey with many projects within the framework of new concepts such as 21st century curriculum, 4.0 industrial revolution, sustainable development, digital flow, regional development, smart specialization.


He noted that they determined four main projects for the structural change in higher education, which are the establishment of the Quality Board, Mission Differentiation and Specialization, Target-Oriented Internationalization and 100/2000 CoHE Doctoral Scholarship Project.


He said that he wanted to give some statistics about the current state of physics programs before talking about the incentive and supportive arrangements in fundamental sciences. "5.692 students are currently enrolled in physics programs. 5.514 of them are studying at 44 state universities and 178 of them are studying at four foundation universities. 946 students were placed in physics programs last year. 1.032 students are placed in physics programs this year," he said.


He stated that the total number of academic staff in physics programs is 1.200, including 846 faculty members, 63 teaching fellows and 291 research assistants and that these figures are getting better each day.


He reiterated that 36 departments of physics at 32 state and four foundation universities had accepted students last year. "48 departments of physics are accepting students at 44 state and four foundation universities this year. Twelve physics programs will be opened. As you know, there was a time when there were many unused quotas left in the physics programs of some universities due to loss of interest in basic sciences. This situation has turned into a positive outcome with the contributions of you, the previous academics, and physicists," he said.


He emphasized that they knew that the results of YKS, which were announced last week, were not at a desired level in terms of fundamental sciences and said that they had been making some arrangements in this context.


CoHE President Saraç concluded his speech by saying that they, as the Council of Higher Education, would continue to pay attention to fundamental sciences and support them in every way possible.


Click here to read the full transcript of the speech made by CoHE President Prof. Dr. M. A. Yekta Saraç. (In Turkish)


The congress will last for five days and physics faculty members from universities, foreign and Turkish speakers, graduate students and scientists and researchers from the industry will attend the event.


The main themes of the congress will be Astrophysics and Cosmology, Atomic and Molecular Physics, Energy, Physics Education and Philosophy, Statistical Physics, Mathematical Physics, Medical Physics, Nuclear Physics, Applied Physics, Condensed Matter Physics, and High Energy and Plasma Physics.